Paleo Chocolate Chip Banana Bread 


Paleo Chocolate chip Banana Bread

Grain free? Gluten free? No refined sugars ?(-Chocolate chips)

You gotta be kidding me. Let’s Get to work…

So I’ve been so pressed to make this recipe ever since I came upon it months ago (from Monique’s AmbitiousKitchen, i believe) You will never catch me peeling a banana to eat one day past it’s young, greenish yellow prime,  so these “Grandpa nanners” which had been laying around my kitchen for the past 2 weeks were the Perfect candidates! and they did just the trick. (Oh btw,Whoever said “Age ain’t nothin’ but a number.” WAS NOT referring to bananas.) just sayin…

img_4995

Over the past few months I’ve found that my body is very intolerant to certain “healthier” grains that I was finally becoming accustomed to and even enjoy. (Extremely Huge Sad Face) This lead to me being constantly bloated and unable to digest just about anything I ate then, ultimately a stunt in my weight loss. Now, with Being so close to my goal, I definitely didn’t want to lose all motivation, so I set out on the mission to go completely Gluten free so, when I saw “Gluten Free Favorite” I was SOLD!

img_4997
The Almighty Almond butter herself… In all her crunchy, nutty goodness. Another one of my favorites. I couldn’t be more proud to peel back your plastic, open you up and get straight to business.

img_4998
I have also become very familiar with using coconut flour this past year, when a friend shared a low-carb pancake recipe with me. I then went on using it in dishes that called for traditional flour. I have noticed the texture is very different from traditional flour. It’s More dense and a bit gritty, which I have no complaints… It also absorbs anything you add to it very well. Not to mention the beautiful, The Deep coconut aroma that just hugs your nose. (Forgive me I’m a little Coco crazy!)😁


With being in the middle of the moving process and my hand mixeralready boxed up, I just had to exercise a little extra wrist work though, I would recommend using a mixer to save yourself the hassle of mashing the baking soda/powder chunks to death.


A little before and after action.

 Now, the recipe calls for a 8×4 or 9×5 loaf pan, so again, Instead of digging up my glass pan from my moving boxes I just picked up a few of these from my local supermarket. (Plus they come with that handy little plastic lid.) making clean up a breeze. 

So without further agonizing ado and 35 minutes later straight out off the cooling rack, The finished product!!! (with a lil coconut almond milk)


Prep time: 10 mins  

Cook time: 30 mins 

Total time: 40 mins

  • 3 medium ripe bananas, mashed
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup almond butter (creamy or crunchy)
  • 2 eggs, at room temperature
  • 1/2 cup coconut flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup dark chocolate chips

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
  2. Line a 8×4 inch or 9×5 inch loaf pan with parchment paper and spray with nonstick cooking spray.
  3. In the bowl of an electric mixer, combine bananas, vanilla and almond butter; mix until well combined, smooth and creamy.
  4.  Add in eggs, one at a time and mix on medium speed until combined.
  5. With the mixer on medium-low speed, add in coconut flour, baking soda, baking powder, cinnamon and salt; mix again until just combined.
  6. Gently fold in chocolate chips.
  7. Pour batter into prepared pan and smooth top.
  8. Bake for 30-40 minutes or until tester inserted into center comes out clean.
  9. Remove from oven and place on wire rack to cool for 20 minutes, then carefully invert, remove bread from pan and place back on wire rack to cool completely.
  10.  Cut into 12 slices and enjoy!

Additions/substitutions

  • You can add just about any other toppings/extras into the dish that you could think of. (Note that) it may change the nutritional values, but there’s plenty of healthy picks. “Blueberries, cherries, coconut shavings, nuts, ect.”
  • I wouldn’t substitute too many ingredients in this recipe, though I wondered about how it might turn out with almond flour rather than coconut. I also opted for Almond extract only because I had just ran out of vanilla.(honestly couldn’t taste the difference)

Hope you guys love this recipe as much as I do! I think next go around I may add in some dried fruit or pecans/walnuts… Who knows, Maybe both. 

Oh Believe me, there’s many more healthy recipes to come. Stay tuned. 
Like, comment and share ❤️

XO, –Summer

Leave a Reply

